Author Archive

Ceremony marks inauguration of Erskine’s 17th president

Posted on February 16, 2018 by

Dr. Robert E. Gustafson, who describes himself as “a newcomer” who has “grown to love Erskine in a short time,” was inaugurated as 17th president of Erskine College and Theological Seminary in a service of worship Feb. 16 at the Due West Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church. The opening procession included Erskine faculty members and administrators […]

Continue Reading

Erskine trustees elect officers as preparations completed for inauguration of 17th president

Posted on February 15, 2018 by

The Erskine Board of Trustees gathered on the Due West campus Thursday, Feb. 15, for its regularly scheduled meeting. “We are excited to be here at this time when we are preparing to celebrate the inauguration of Dr. Gustafson,” Board Chairman Sam James said. “The board is more unified than I have seen it in […]

Continue Reading

Tom Ervin ’74 recognized by National Eagle Scout Association

Posted on February 13, 2018 by

Tom Ervin, a 1974 graduate of Erskine College, has received the National Eagle Scout Association’s Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) for 2017. The award was presented Feb. 8 at the 2018 Blue Ridge Council Banquet in Greenville, S.C. Ervin, who began his scouting career in Honea Path, S.C., earned the rank of Eagle Scout with […]

Continue Reading

‘Duo Azul’ to perform in Memorial Hall Feb. 15

Posted on February 12, 2018 by

Duo Azul, made up of American pianist Amy E. Gustafson and Korean pianist Hyeyoung Song, will offer a concert entitled “Journey through the Spiritual Realm” at Erskine College Thursday, Feb. 15, at 7 p.m. in Memorial Hall. The program will include works by Bach, Saint-Saens, Gounod, Liszt, and Rubinstein. Duo Azul’s performances feature the four-hand […]

Continue Reading

‘Is Christianity a Killjoy Religion?’ to be chapel speaker’s topic Feb. 13

Posted on February 12, 2018 by

The Rev. Matthew Miller, who serves as director of Erskine Theological Seminary’s extension site in Greenville, S.C., will examine the question “Is Christianity a Killjoy Religion?” at an Erskine chapel service Tuesday, Feb. 13, at 11 a.m. in the Due West ARP Church. He will take as his text I John 1:1-4. Formerly senior pastor […]

Continue Reading

Fall 2017 Dean’s List announced

Posted on February 8, 2018 by

The Erskine College Fall 2017 Dean’s List has been announced by Provost of the College Dr. John Basie. The dean’s list honors full-time students who earn a GPR of at least 3.80. Students named to the dean’s list are as follows: Gary Legaspi Aromin, Tamuning, Guam Sarah Renee Ashbrook, Bloomingdale, Ga. Rebecca Delaney Atkinson, Clinton, […]

Continue Reading

Moderator addresses Erskine community

Posted on February 7, 2018 by

The Rev. Lee Shelnutt, Moderator of the General Synod of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church, spoke to Erskine faculty, staff, and students Feb. 6 at the first convocation of the spring semester. Shelnutt, pastor of Huntersville ARP Church in Huntersville, N.C., drew an analogy between the emphasis on “location, location, location” in the field of […]

Continue Reading

Convocation events begin Feb. 6 with ARP Moderator’s address

Posted on February 1, 2018 by

The Rev. Lee Shelnutt, Moderator of the General Synod of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church, will speak at the first Erskine convocation of the spring semester Tuesday, Feb. 6, at 11 a.m. in the Due West ARP Church. Additional convocation highlights for the semester include a vocation panel discussion Feb. 15; a town hall meeting […]

Continue Reading

Erskine’s role as charter school authorizer mentioned in 2018 State of the State address

Posted on January 25, 2018 by

South Carolinians who tuned in to Gov. Henry McMaster’s State of the State address Jan. 24 heard the governor refer to Erskine College and its recent approval as a charter school authorizer in his remarks. “We must continue to invest in school choice,” McMaster said. “A robust charter school program allows parents to choose the […]

Continue Reading